Best reads of 2016

This year has been really good reading wise. I passed my reading goal of 50 with over 15 books, and I had some really amazing reads. I thought I’d tell you a bit about my favorite books this year, some five star reads. Maybe you want to add them to your tbr? (wink wink) I’ll add the link to Goodreads in the title of the books if you want to know more about them. Okay, let’s do this!

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I know, I know. I’m late to the train. But this book was incredible. Talk about deserving to be a classic. I can definitely understand the hype now. My favorite thing about P&P was the writing. It was exactly how I like it, with focus on characters rather than surroundings and other things.

All the light we cannot see by Anthony Doerr

This book you guys. It was so so beautiful. I will have you know that I was super close to DNF this book, so yes, it is slow. But after about half the book it became so amazing so the slow beginning didn’t even lower my rating of the book. Read this!!! (Fun sidenote: The writing in this book is the opposite of the writing in P&P. It’s poetic and woderful. This is my other type of favorite writing style.)

Me: *Slowly starts realizing this list is going to be a lot shorter than I originally thought.*

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

This book was super adorable and so, so beautifully written. The characters were amazing and developed so much during the book. I don’t quite remember how many years it was set over but it was so great to see how they grew. Recommend this so much if you haven’t read it already. I really liked that it was set during the 80’s too. That made it more unique and gave me another perspective than the usual YA books.

I think that’s it. I read a lot of amazing books that I didn’t include in this post too, but these three are the ones that really stood out to me and that I can see myself rereading over and over and over thoughout my entire life.
What did you read in 2016 that you really loved?

Here’s to a new year with lots of new amazing books!

Leave a Reply

