2017 reading goals

A new year has finally come and it’s therefore time to set up some new reading goals. Last year my goal was 50 books and I surpassed that with 20 books. I did however include rereads in this count, which I’m not planning on doing this year. Now, I don’t actually reread that much because I want to discover new books, but I still try to reread a few books every year. Still, I don’t want to raise my reading goal all that much because I don’twant to feel pressured to read, making it a stress factor rather than stress relief. So I’ve deciden on trying to read 52 books, one every week.

I also have a few books I really, really want to get to these year. Here’s 10 of them:

Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin Manuel Miranda, Jeremy McCarter

I’m so ashamed! I don’t even have anything to say in my defense as to not having read this yet.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Lee Harper

I started this one back in 2015 but I never got around to finish it. I’ve decidedto give it another try though and I’m really hoping to enjoy it more this time.

A Game of Thrones by George R.R Martin

I’m so intimidated by this book. It’s huge, is part of a series where the books only get bigger and bigger and is I’ve heard that it’s quite slow. Nevertheless, I own it and I want to read it at some point, so why not 2017? I also want to be able to say I’ve read the books when someone asks if I’ve seen the TV show. “No, I have not. I want to read the books first.”

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

I had hoped to read this when it came out in November 2016 but I never got around to buy it. This year I will, I’m sure. I’m really excited for this book, as I loved Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles.

Emma by Jane Austen

After reading and absolutely loving Pride and Prejudice I got Emma when I found it in a second hand store this summer. I’ve been meaning to read it as soon as possible since then but never done it. But you know, I’m still meaning on reading it asap.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

I’ve heard so many amazing things about this, I cannot wait to read it!

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

I started this years and years ago but never got past page 30. I used to give up on books so easily. I really think I will like it now though, I’ve read amazing reviews and heard great things and basically I just really want to try it again.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Yet another book I didn’t finish the first time. I’m seriously getting worried about my reading habits. I read about 100 pages of this in September but the text in my library copy was tiny so I just couldn’t do it. I’m ready for another try though. Bildresultat för milk and honey rupi kaur

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

I’m definitely not big on poetry. I can’t say I quite get it, but I have read some poems I like so I’m still excited to try Milk and Honey as I’ve heard tons of amazing things about it. Oh, and that cover might have something to do with it too.

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Maggie Stiefvater is my favorite author, I love her writing style and her
characters and her magical world building. But for some reason I haven’t read The Scorpio Races yet. I don’t even know why. I will read it this year though, and I’m really excited to!

 

That’s it! I really hope I can make 52 books and read the 10 above. What are your reading plans for 2017? Tell me below!

 

 

2 thoughts on “2017 reading goals”

  1. I can’t wait for you to read The Book Thief!
    I really want to read basically everything by Jane Austen (because her books are freaking amazing and you can find them in secondhand bookstores for like no many at all) and finish all the series I have started!

    Like

Leave a Reply

