Review: The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon | Published: November 2016 by Delacorte Press

My Rating: 4/5 stars | Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

I have so many thoughts and feelings about The Sun is Also a Star. I loved this book, I read it in one day, in restaurants, stores and in the car and basically during every free minute I had. I liked it just as much Everything, Everything, which I also absolutely loved. Still, I definitely had some issues with it. 

The Sun is Also a Star is about this girl, Natasha, who’s about to be deported to Jamaica and this boy, Daniel, who has to go to an interview for a college he doesn’t want to get into. Natasha loves science and doesn’t believe in fate or anything else that can’t be scientifically proven. Daniel is a poet and a dreamer and he is all about fate and destiny. The two meet on the day of Natasha’s deportation and Daniel’s interview and things happen. (Here’s the Goodreads synopsis)

My biggest problem with this book is that it’s a love story and it’s set over a single day. I’m not a fan of insta-love, but I still wanted to read this book since I really liked Yoon’s Everything, Everything and I thought the characters in this one sounded so unique so I just had to give it a try. But as I’d predicted, the insta-love was a factor that made my reading experience a bit worse. Say what you want, but I don’t believe you can fall in love over the course of a few hours. I just don’t. I really think Natasha and Daniel had chemistry, but I think their relationship progressed way too quickly. 

I loved the way this book was structured. We mostly follow Natasha and Daniel, but we also get some shorter chapters about other things. Sometimes they’re about a character in their surroundings, for example a security guard, and sometimes they’re just some history or science facts. I LOVED that. I learned facts, and I was reminded that I can’t assume things about people around me or take them for granted, because I don’t really know anything about them. This was so great and it’s what’s really going to make this book memorable to me.

My favorite character was by far Natasha. I loved how funny and geeky she was and how she literally shone when she got to explain science to Daniel. Adorable. I also liked how much there was to know about her background. I think the main reason I liked her so much was that she was more into science and facts than fate and destiny and love and all that jazz. Because if I haven’t made that clear yet, I’m definitely not either. Daniel was also really sweet and all, but because of all his “meant to be” talk I found myself rolling my eyes at him quite a lot. I guess I rolled my eyes at the entire book quite a lot, but that’s okay. I also smiled more than I’ve done in some time while reading, so overall the book was super cute and lovely. Since this book was set over only one day that meant there was a lot of focus on small moments and especially on the characters. Natasha was the one who developed the most throughout the day. Daniel made her realize not everything had to be backed up by facts all the time and he made her think a lot about her future choices, should they be ruled by facts or dreams. It was nice to see her change some of her her views and realize how much impact someone you only have known for a short time can affect your life.

If you can handle the insta-love and and the cheesy-ness that comes with it, then I’d definitely recommend you read this book. Even if you don’t think you’ll like it because of the love story I encourage you to give it a try, because this book is so, so much more than the love story.nyar-004

What are your thoughts on this book? Have you read it or do you want to read it? If you have, did you like it? Tell me below!

Thanks for reading!!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon”

Leave a Reply

