Some thoughts on Salt to the Sea

I recently read Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. I don’t have enough to say about it to write a good, full-length review, but I wanted to share some thoughts anyway. Salt to the Sea is a historical young adult book about WW2. It takes place during the last year of the war, meaning it’s already bad when it starts, and oh dear does it get worse. It’s so good, and so, so heartbreaking. 

First things first. I loved this book. It had beautiful writing and was very captivating story. The chapters were really short which made it a perfect read for me during mid-Jan to mid-Feb since I was very busy then. I could read a chapter and then do other things. (Until I was a little bit more than halfway through, of course. After that, I read the rest in one night.)

Those short chapters were however also what made me have some difficulties with the book. Because the chapters are very short and we follow four characters, you were never given the opportunity to really get to know them all that well. When you were just starting to feel a lot for them, the perspective switched. All four very very great characters though. They were very different, some more likeable than others. It was a believable depiction of what war does to people.

In all, Salt to the Sea was really, really good and I encourage you to read it. Even if you’re usually not a fan of historical fiction I think this would be very enjoyable. It’s not at all as heavy as hictorical fiction often is. As for me, I’m going to see which of Sepetys books to read next.

Have you read Salt to the Sea? If not, what’s your favorite historical read?

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Some thoughts on Salt to the Sea”

  1. I am going to be seriously emotional after reading this, i just ordered it 😦 It will be my first time diving into the historical fiction genre and it looks like its going to be a fantastic read. I can’t wait to pick it up! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

