Review: The Siren by Kiera Cass

IMG_2061 (2).JPG

The Siren by Kiera Cass

Published by HarperTeen in January 2016 (org. 2009)

Genre: Fantasy, young adult, romance

I didn’t have very high expectations of this book. While I to some extent enjoyed the Selection series (or at least the first three books, which was all I could take), especially how fast paced it was, I was incredibly annoyed with the main character of that series. I guess I hoped that if the main character didn’t make me want to scream, I’d be able to at least appreciate the quick reads
Cass’ books are. So I tried The Siren. Well guess what, I wanted to scream. 

The Siren follows Kahlen, a (you guessed it) siren. She was given a second chance at life when the rest of her family died 80 years ago.  All she had to do was to serve the Ocean as a siren for a century, and then she’d be free to continue her human life. 80 years into her sentence, she falls in love with a boy, Akinli. *Gasps.* This makes Kahlen take risks she never even would’ve considered before. Here‘s the Goodreads synopsis. Bildresultat för the siren kiera cass

Kahlen is insufferable. I don’t know why I seem to be completely unable to like Cass’ main characters but that’s the way it is. I guess what bothers me most about Kahlen is the way she thinks so high of herself. Don’t get me wrong, I love when people know their worth, but Kahlen was over the top. “The Ocean loves me”, “My sisters really me” and “I never do anything for myself” may not be actual quotes from the book but they could’ve been. While the first may be true the other two had me rolling my eyes so hard I thought they might get stuck. Don’t even get me started on the romance. *Shudders.* THEY MET LIKE TWO TIMES AND THEN KAHLEN IS SO SURE THEY ARE IN LOVE AND WILL NOT SHUT UP ABOUT IT. It’s my insta-love nightmare. YOU MET TWICE GIVE ME A BREAK.

The Ocean was a very interesting and different character. I liked seeing her view of the sirens waver and change and she was probably the most complex character in the book. I also really liked Kahlen’s siren sisters. They’re dynamic was so good and they were such a loving bunch. Definitely a shame to see it from Kahlen’s ungrateful eyes. “Ah yes I have three sisters who love me and want nothing else than for me to be happy so let me just be a bitch and not talk to them and complain about their hobbies while I whine about this boy I met twice.” Stop it, please.

You might have noticed, but if you haven’t I guess I have to tell you. I haven’t been the biggest fan of romance lately. So if you think you’d enjoy this book, go read it. That being said, I won’t be able to recommend The Siren to anyone. It’s was way to cheesy and annoying. The redemption was the fast paced wring (there’s no arguing the writing is perfect for a slump) and the sisters. Oh, and the cover is really pretty.

I almost forgot to mention this, but the last 15 or so percent were actually quite addicting. I really enjoyed it when it started pacing up. Then of course, it was ruined by some extremely cringe-worthy lines and a very unsatisfactory ending. But still, it wasn’t bad all the time.

Rating: 1.5 stars

 

 adlibris | bokus| book depository
2 thoughts on “Review: The Siren by Kiera Cass”

  1. Well, I don’t think I will read it because I can’t stand insta-love or annoying main characters
    I would probably throw the book away before I had finished it tbh

    Like

Leave a Reply

