Review: Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

lördag1 049

At long last, I’ve finished this review. (I’ve been working on it for a month.) You can read it in either Swedish or English under the cut. Hope you’ll like it, and that you decide to pick this book up, because it needs to be read. Huge thank you to Harper Collins Nordic for sending me this book for review!

English

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

Genre: Nonfiction

Hidden Figures tells the previously relatively unknown story about some of the most successful black women in the history of the United States. The book is mostly focused on Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughan and Mary Jackson’s accomplishments at NASA during the space age. A more detailed description of the book can be found here.

I wanted to love Hidden Figures. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to love a book as much before. And I did like it, I really did, but I found myself putting it down after only one chapter because I was bored. The story itself is very interesting, and it honestly makes me pissed that I didn’t know who these amazing women were before. They’re intelligent, strong and willing to fight for themselves and for others. Basically, the role models the world needs. Unfortunately, the book wasn’t what I wished or what I’d expected it to be. I thought it would be solely about the three women, but it also included quite a lot of space technical stuff and information about the human rights movement, as well as about other women who also did amazing contributions to science at NASA, most of which was interesting, but it made the book confusing. 

I’m happy there was a lot of information about the Human Rights Movement. I knew way too little about it before and it was very relevant to the women’s struggles when it came to the segregation as well as their individual fight against it. The technical bits I’m not quite sure added anything to the story. To a certain degree it’s good that it was included, to know why Katherine’s calculations were important made the book more interesting, and I love to learn new things so it was great to get a basic understanding of what was being discussed. But reading through pages of detailed descriptions of wind tunnels? Not so much. Those parts made me stop reading since I couldn’t focus on all different things and it made me lose interest completely.  

Another thing I didn’t love about the book was the order events were told in. The different years were all over the place, especially in the first half of the book. You were introduced to characters who wouldn’t have any significance to the story for another ten years and since there was already a whole lot of other things to keep track of (characters, wind tunnels, measurements of wind tunnels, number of wind tunnels, years) it got confusing and felt irrelevant at the time. Chronological order should not be underestimated.
While I didn’t love every part of Hidden Figures, it’s still fantastic. The story it tells is so important for the entire world to hear. That you regardless of your gender, skin color and background can achieve something huge is a message that needs to be spread. The women’s part in NASA’s success is one example. Literary I would not say Hidden Figures is a masterpiece, but the story sure is. So I’m begging you, please read it. Then tell everyone else you know to do the same.

Rating: 3 stars

book depository | amazon

ute 076

Svenska

Dolda tillgångar av Margot Lee Shetterly

Utgiven av Harper Collins Nordic i februari 2017

Dolda tillgångar berättar den tidigare relativt okända berättelsen om några av de mest framgångsrika svarta kvinnorna genom USA’s historia.  Boken fokuserar främst på Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughan och Mary Jacksons insatser hos NASA under rymdåldern. En detaljerad beskrivning från Goodreads hittas här

Jag ville älska Dolda tillgångar, jag tror aldrig att jag har velat älska en bok lika mycket som den här förut. Och jag tyckte om den, det gjorde jag verkligen, men många gånger slutade jag att läsa efter ett kapitel för att jag var uttråkad. Historien är oerhört intressant, och det gör mig rent ut sagt förbannad att jag inte visste vilka dessa fantastiska kvinnor var tidigare. De är intelligenta, starka och villiga att kämpa för sig själva och varandra. Helt enkelt de förebilder som världen behöver. Tyvärr så var boken inte vad jag hade önskat, eller kanske snarare, vad jag hade förväntat mig. Jag trodde att den i princip skulle handla uteslutande om de tre kvinnorna, men den innehöll även mycket rymdtekniska grejer och fakta om medborgarrättsrörelsen, samt en hel del om andra kvinnor som också gjorde fantastiska insatser på NASA, vilket var intressant men gjorde boken rörig. 

Att det fanns så mycket om medborgarrättsrörelsen är jag glad för. Jag visste alldeles för lite om den och den kändes mycket relevant i förhållande till kvinnornas problem som kom i och med segregationen, men också deras individuella kamp mot den. Det tekniska är jag däremot osäker på om det gav så mycket till berättelsen. Till viss del var det bra att det var med, att veta varför Katherines beräkningar var viktiga gjorde boken mer intressant, och jag älskar att lära mig nya saker så det var kul att få en förståelse vad som diskuterades. Men att ta sig igenom en sida där olika vindtunnlar beskrivs? Inget för mig. Sådana partier fick mig att sluta läsa eftersom att jag inte kunde fokusera på vad det stod då jag tappade intresset helt.

Ett annat problem jag hade med boken var ordningen som olika händelser beskrevs i. Årtalen var högt och lågt, framförallt under den första hälften av boken. Man blev introducerad till karaktärer och händelser som skulle få betydelse 10 år senare, och eftersom det redan fanns mycket annat att hålla reda på (karaktärer, vindtunnlar, mått på vindtunnlar, antal vindtunnlar, årtal) så blev det förvirrande och kändes irrelevant. Kronologisk ordning på saker ska aldrig underskattas.

Trots att jag inte tyckte om varje aspekt av boken är den fantastisk. Historien den berättar är så oerhört viktig för hela världen att få höra. Att du oavsett kön, hudfärg och bakgrund kan åstadkomma något så stort är ett budskap som måste spridas. Kvinnornas del av NASA’s arbete likaså. Litteraturmässigt skulle jag inte säga att Dolda Tillgångar är ett mästerverk, men berättelsen är det definitivt. Så jag ber dig, snälla, läs den.

Betyg: 3 stjärnor

adlibris| bokus

Thanks for reading! Let me know if you’ve read this book and how you liked it. 

goodreads | instagram | pinterest

1 thought on “Review: Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly”

  1. […] 10. Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly. This doesn’t quite make sense to put on the list, as there are books I’ve rated higher that I didn’t mention, but this book truly deserve it’s place on this list. It was such an educational read, and while it bored me sometimes, my overall experience was positive. I’m glad I got to learn so much about the women working at NASA during the Space Age, all of it was new to me. Full review can be found here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

