Review: The Melody of You and Me

The premise of The Melody of You and Me (TMOYAM) promises a sweet novella about two girls falling in love in a bookstore. Amazing, isn’t it? It was absolutely great, but unfortunately it didn’t go much further than what could be read at the back of the book.tmoyam 004

After dropping out of university and breaking up with her girlfriend of three years, Chris Morrison’s life is now a mind-numbing mess. She doubts that working at the small neighborhood bookstore is going to change that. The rest of her time is spent mostly playing guitar and ignoring the many messages her mother keeps sending her about going back to college.
But one day, an adorable and charming new bookseller waltzes her way into Chris’s life. Josie Navarro is sweet, flirty, and she always has a new book in her hands. The two girls start a fast friendship that, for Chris, holds the promise of something more. But is she reading too much into this or is it possible that Josie feels the same way?

Since this was a novella, I suppose it’s to be expected that things progress rather quickly, but I found most things too rushed, or at least undeveloped. I didn’t experience the characters’ feelings through the pages, which I suspect is why I thought everything went too quickly. In all, telling rather than showing was a recurring theme (is that an English expression too?).

Because of this, I didn’t feel very deeply connected to the characters, but they we’re adorable nonetheless. Even though I personally found th

31193155

e relationship a bit rushed it was super cute and I enjoyed reading their story a lot. Plus, TMOYAM gets like all diversity and feminist points I have. The main character, Chris, is pansexual and the love interest is a lesbian Filipino. Pretty much all of the side characters are also queer or PoC, or both. Sign me tf up.

This book also handled a lot of issues important to me very casually which I absolutely loved. If you’re looking for a sweet novella with a f/f relationship and a great amount of diversity this one is for you. Perfect for summer imo!

Rating: 2.5 stars

Huge thank you to the author for sending me the book!

book depository | amazon | goodreads

Thank you so much for reading! Do you have any recommendations similar to this book? I’d love to hear them! This was also my first read for #PRIDEMONTHBOOKS so yay to that!

Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

