Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

So this is a tag I’ve been meaning to do for a while, but to be honest I’m still not completely sure I have enough unpopular opinions for a whole post. This is mostly because when I read most popular books when I was younger and completely uncritical of all books I read. Nevertheless, I’m going to try so let’s get into it!

suits 027

1. A popular book series you didn’t like.

The Selection by Kiera Cass. I don’t know how popular this actually is, but I found it lacking in both characterization and plot wise. Not for me.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

I can’t really think of any? I used to like the Shiver trilogy by Maggie Stiefvater but I’m fairly sure I wouldn’t enjoy it at all if I were to read it now.

3. A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with or a couple that you don’t like.

The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I didn’t like either of the two love interests, so you know, not happy with the outcome.

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for.

Sci-fi and dystopian. They’re usually closely related so it makes sense I guess. I’m just so tired of seeing the same tropes being used over and over. I also read Ender’s Game years and years ago, and that made me never want to pick up a sci-fi ever again. Whops.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Rhysand. Please, don’t kill me. It’s not like I hate him or anything like that, I just don’t get the hype at all. And since he’s half the reason people like the series (right?), I also don’t get the hype about the books either. Also, what’s with the purring? Weirds me out.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

Colleen Hoover. I can’t say I’ve tried to by actually reading multiple of her books, but I’ve read Maybe Someday, talked to Fiona about It Ends With Us and heard stuff about November 9, and I can say for sure that she’s not for me.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing.

LOVE TRIANGLES. PLEASE SAVE ME FROM THE LOVE TRIANGLES. I hate them a lot.

sön16 134

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I read the first one and found it pretty dull, so I’m not really interested in reading the rest of the series.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer to the book?

Hidden Figures. The book and the movie are two very different things, but the movie is a lot more enjoyable, although the books is great from an informative point of view.hf-gallery-02-gallery-image

Phew. I did it! Do you agree with me on any of these? Or do you have any other unpopular opinions? Let me know in the comments! 

Thanks for reading!

Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

15 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag”

  1. I relate with most things apart from Rhys, tbh. And yasss, I am so done. with love triangles,, I used to like them when I was younger and super into contemporaries but now that I’m older (ishhhh) I really don’t see the point in them any more!
    And same here with Red Queen, if I’m honest. I’m just not that invested after reading the first book anymore. I liked the first book a lot, and at the time I hadn’t read much fantasy, so I thought that it was mind blowing, but now that I’ve read more, I realise that the world isn’t that developed and the plot was lacking, and urshhhh the love triangle! no thannkkkyouuuuuuuu!! 😉

    Great answers!!

    Like

  2. Like the above comment, I discovered your blog on Insta (booksta, whatever you want to say). I really love it!! I have been really bad about reading current works lately (four years as an English major had me living and breathing classic lit), but I really hated the Divergent series. Like really hated it. AND I agree – love triangles need to disappear forever.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I somehow enjoyed he first Divergent book a lot (still don’t quite understand how that happened, but it was a long time ago) but it went downhill from there. Glad we’re all on board with the want for the extinction of love triangles.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with so many of these! The Selection series was a downhill race for me and ended with a 1-star rating because I just couldn’t with these books. I’ve been very hesitant about Colleen Hoover, as I don’t think her books are for me (and I’m pretty picky with contemporaries in general). I read two books of Maggie Stiefvater’s The Wolves of Mercy Falls series and I couldn’t get into it! The Raven Boys is much better, if you’ve read those. You were right to avoid Red Queen because, while I shallowly enjoyed the first book, the sequel was poorly done. I haven’t read Hidden Figures but I LOVED the movie so much!

    I’m also so happy I just discovered your blog through Instagram!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I stopped reading after The One but NOTHING would make me pick up the last two books. I have read The Raven Cycle, it’s actually one of my favorite series! I’m so glad I didn’t pick up Glass Sword now, I’m fairly sure I’d hate it. The movie is so great, isn’t it? The book is kind of different but it’s good in it’s own way, especially if you’re into more facts than characters.

      Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

