Diversity Spotlight Thursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks you can find the original post and the rules here. What you have to do is basically just answer the 3 questions below. I just discovered this meme a few days ago but I think it’s such a great way to shine some light on diverse books and authors. Anyway, let’s do this!

 

procratination 083

1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed.

32075671

 

 

My most recent diverse book that I absolutely loved was The Hate U Give

 

by Angie Thomas. It was such a brilliant and heartbreaking book, and so, so relevant. I cannot recommend it enough. As a white person, that book was the first I’ve read that really made me see my privilege from someone else’s POV, and I thought that was so great and eye-opening. Apart from being probably one of the most important YA books out there atm it’s also a generally good read with amazing writing, character and plot. Please read it if you haven’t already!

 

2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. I’ve been seeing this one around bookstagram quite a lot lately and it looks really cute and I think it sounds perfect for summer. It’s definitely on my July TBR.

3. A diverse book that has not yet been released.

Not sure if this has been released or not, but Book Depository says it hasn’t so I’ll go with that. The book is The Love Interest by Cale Dietrisch. I’m not a fan of love triangles, but I think I’ll like this one.

diverse-spotlight1

Have you read any of these? Did you like it/them? 

Thanks for reading!

Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday

  1. I loved Thug, and I REALLY want to read when Dimple met Rishi! The Love Interest also seems super exciting and I want to read that too. Great post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

