Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag 2017

We’re already halfway through 2017 so here’s a little reading update from me in the form of the MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG. So far I’ve read 29 out of the 52 books I sat as my reading goal  so I’m a few books ahead of schedule. Feels good.tor16 023.JPG

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017.
Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. I mean, Crooked Kingdom was a little bit better but it’s the whole experience. 

bth.gif

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017.
Apart from Crooked Kingdom (which is of course the only one), it’s definitely A Gathering of Shadows by V.E Schwab. I absolutely loved it and it’s my favorite in the ADSOM series

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.
When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandya Menon. I have this on it’s way to me, and I’m super excited to read it. From what I’ve heard it’s supposed to be really good. 

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.
WONDER WOMAN: WARBRINGER BY LEIGH BARDUGO. My excitment for this book is off the charts. One of my favorite authors and Wonder Woman in the same package. Sign me tf up.

warbringer

5. Biggest disappointment.
Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I really enjoyed The Lunar Chronicles when I read

 

 them some years ago, but Heartless fell pretty flat for me. I just didn’t connect with the characters or the story and was bored throughout the whole book. 

29231988

6. Biggest surprise.

Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley. I picked up this one from the library kind of on a whim but I ended up finishing it on one sitting and loving it! Kind of made me forget the biology assignment I had due the same day but it all went well. Really recommend this book!

7. Favorite new author (debut or new to you).
Leigh Bardugo, no surprise there. 

8. Newest fictional crush.
Lila Bard. Not sure what to say, she’s just plain amazing.

“I’d rather die on adventure than live standing still”

9. Newest favorite character.
Kaz Brekker. I just love his scheming and coat and his general attitude and everything. Probably one of my all-time favorites, all categories. batb 042.JPG

10. Book that made you cry.
Would it be bad if I mentioned the Six of Crows duology again? Because I cried A LOT in Crooked Kingdom. 

11. Book that made you happy.
So other than the obvious (SoC and CK) I guess Queens of Geek. It was this super fun contemporary with great romances, a ton of diversity and a lot of geekyness. Really enjoyable. Six of Crows is always number one though. 

So yeah, this was all just an excuse to get to talk a lot about Leigh Bardugo and Six of Crows. Can you blame me? 

What’s your favorite read of 2017 so far? And what book are you anticipating most?

Thanks for reading!

Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

1 thought on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag 2017”

Leave a Reply

