ALL THE NEWS ABOUT EMBER3

SABAA TAHIR’S NEW BOOK HAS A TITLE, RELEASE DATE, SYNOPSIS AND A COVER.

excited

Oh, and the AEITA and ATATN got revamped covers as well! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. One might ask why though, because there’s no denying that the old ones were gorgeous. WEll, Tahir shared in an Q/A with Mashable that there have been discussions about new covers, and that she really wanted to see Laia at them.

“I really wanted a to see a brown girl on these covers. And I wanted her in a position of power. How often have I seen book covers with a hero dead center? All the time. But how often is that hero a POC? Not often enough. I wanted this beautiful brown girl to be in that classic hero’s pose — center stage, looking right at you, like a badass.”

You can read the whole Q/A here.

As a white person, I can’t comprehend just how important it is to see oneself represented on the covers of the books you love, because I do it all the time. But I do know how important good representation is and with these books, Tahir now doesn’t only do it with the story but also the covers and oh gods, I love it. READ THESE BOOKS EVERYONE. Even if you won’t do it for the glorious diversity, do it for the awesomeness that is the story. Because it’s SO DARN GOOD. Ready to see the new covers? (You probably already have, but just in case you haven’t.) HERE THEY ARE.

I’m usually not a fan of seeing faces on the cover, or this whole colorful hero-thing (that ToG’s got going on), or a cover change mid-series, but I’ll let all of it pass this time. I AM IN LOVE WITH THESE NEW COVERS. And yes, I will find a way to justify owning more than one copy of AETIA and ATATN. SO BEAUTIFUL I WANT TO CRY.

I’m almost done screaming about this, but first, the summary.

Beyond the Empire and within it, the threat of war looms ever larger.

The Blood Shrike, Helene Aquilla, is assailed on all sides. Emperor Marcus, haunted by his past, grows increasingly unstable, while the Commandant capitalizes on his madness to bolster her own power. As Helene searches for a way to hold back the approaching darkness, her sister’s life and the lives of all those in the Empire hang in the balance. 

Far to the east, Laia of Serra knows the fate of the world lies not in the machinations of the Martial court, but in stopping the Nightbringer. But while hunting for a way to bring him down, Laia faces unexpected threats from those she hoped would aid her, and is drawn into a battle she never thought she’d have to fight. 

And in the land between the living and the dead, Elias Veturius has given up his freedom to serve as Soul Catcher. But in doing so, he has vowed himself to an ancient power that will stop at nothing to ensure Elias’s devotion–even at the cost of his humanity.

needit

LOOK AT MY GIRLFRIEND HELENE BEING MORE AND MORE RELEVANT. (I’m also very scared about this btw, please let her be okay.) AND LAIA AND ELIAS OMG I JUST NEED EVERYONE SAFE IS THAT TOO MUCH TO ASK? Okay, I just really need this book.

 

A REAPER AT THE GATES IS OUT APRIL 10TH Y’ALL, MARK YOUR CALENDARS. The new covers are released on August 29th.

 

Are you excited for ARATG? Will you buy the new covers? Who’s your favorite character in the books? Let me know in a comment!!!!

Thanks for reading!

tildareads

Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

6 thoughts on “ALL THE NEWS ABOUT EMBER3”

  1. I AM SO EXCITED OMG OMG OMG OMG HELENE I FREAKING LOVE HER!!!
    The covers are amazing I love them I need to own them all now!! I’m not a fan of faces either, but the COLOURSSSSSSSS ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As a lover of the covers’ first version, only esthetically talking, I’m sad to see the old version go. But I totally understand Tahir’s motive, which is great.
    The only thing is that I still don’t like the new designs. I would have love to see something like a particular draw, with same people and pose, and less photoshop like. But the covers will grow on me, hopefully.
    Anyway, I cannot wait for the third book. Now I’ve to buy all of them again *.* Like, I’ve a really good excuse.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes I definitely agree, the previous ones were soo gorgeous, but I’m so incredibly happy with what she decided to do. And same here, but agh I’m too happy with her decision to really care. So excited for everything new Ember!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like these covers and I can understand why the author wanted to change t, I’m just a bit pissed that I ordered the old ones TWO DAYS AGO I can’t believe it! If I had known this I would have ordered the new ones! Seems like I’m going to have a mismatched series…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

